Consultation has concluded


On 17 November 2020 Council resolved at a Briefing to implement a process for Dual Naming of Council Wards with Aboriginal terms.

The request is consistent with CBCITY’s Reconciliation Action Plan
‘Investigate opportunities to recognize the culture and heritage of ATSI peoples in local government infrastructure and environment’

Research has been undertaken by members of Council’s Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Working Party into the Dharug language and significant sites and stories from local Indigenous history. Following a recent workshop, two themed options have been developed for each ward.

Planning Proposal

The Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Working Party has drawn on the experience of Inner West Council to identify the process followed and researched names and history. They consulted with a representative of Gandangara Local Aboriginal Land Council and held a workshop that was supported by Council staff who abstained from the decision-making process.

A major consideration was that the suggested names needed to be succinct words that are easy to pronounce so that the process can be embraced by the whole community. The reference group decided on a process where the options were broken into Fauna and Flora names. The proposed options are as follows:


Not sure which ward you live in?

The City of Canterbury Bankstown is broken up into five wards: Bankstown Ward; Bass Hill Ward; Canterbury Ward; Revesby Ward; and Roselands Ward. Find out which ward your suburb falls under by clicking on the tabs.

Each ward is represented by three Councillors. To find out who represents your area, visit


  • Bankstown
  • Chullora
  • Greenacre
  • Mount Lewis
  • Punchbowl

Bass Hill

  • Bass Hill
  • Birrong
  • Chester Hill
  • Condell Park
  • Georges Hall
  • Lansdowne
  • Potts Hill
  • Sefton
  • Villawood
  • Yagoona


  • Ashbury
  • Belfield
  • Campsie
  • Canterbury
  • Clemton Park
  • Croydon Park
  • Earlwood
  • Hurlstone Park


  • East Hills
  • Milperra
  • Padstow
  • Padstow Heights
  • Panania
  • Picnic Point
  • Revesby
  • Revesby Heights


  • Belmore
  • Beverly Hills
  • Kingsgrove
  • Lakemba
  • Narwee
  • Lansdowne
  • Potts Hill
  • Sefton
  • Villawood
  • Yagoona

Community Consultation